Program for the Inaugural SPIMACS Workshop

Security and Privacy in Medical and Home-Care Systems
Hyatt Regency Chicago
An ACM CCS Affiliated Workshop
13 November 2009

Call for Participation Available

[PDF available here]
[simple txt suitable for email available here]


Registration & Breakfast

9:00 - 9:30 Welcome and Announcements

9:30 - 10:30 Privacy Policies: Technical and Political

  • Carl Gunter, Software Engineering for Assisted Living
  • Sasikanth Avancha, Amit Baxi and David Kotz. A privacy framework for mobile health and home-care systems
  • Ajit Appari, Eric Johnson and Denise Anthony. HIPAA Compliance in Home Health: A Neo-Institutional Theoretic Perspective

10:30 - 11:00 Break

11:00 - 12:00 Data Access and Control

  • Andres Molina, Mastooreh Salajegheh and Kevin Fu. HICCUPS: Health Information Collaborative Collection Using Privacy and Security
  • Ryan W. Gardner, Sujata Garera, Matthew W. Pagano, Matthew Green and Aviel Rubin. Securing Medical Records on Smart Phones
  • Lars E. Olson, Carl A. Gunter and Sarah Peterson Olson, M.D.. A Medical Database Case Study for Reflective Database Access Control

12:30 - 1:30 Lunch

1:30 - 2:30 In Situ Evaluations of Caregiving Technology

  • Fabio Massacci, Viet Hung Nguyen and Ayda Saidane. Security and Privacy for Ambient Assisted Living: An Organizational perspective
  • Scout Sinclari, Dartmouth, Meta-Observations from an Outsider’s Study of Clinical Environments
  • Kelly Caine, Georgia Tech, The Role of Video in Home and Health Care

2:30 - 3:30 Keynote: Latanya Sweeney, Director of the Data Privacy Lab at Carnegie Mellon University, Appointed to the Federal Health IT Policy Committee

3:30 - 4:00 Break

4:00 - 5:00 Panel: Authentication in iHealth Care

  • Moderator: Kevin Fu
  • Charles Horowitz, MITRE
  • Jim O'Leary, Microsoft
  • Avi Rubin, John Hopkins
  • Umesh Shankar, Google

Workshop/Tutorial Fees

(one-day Workshop Pass):
Member/Non-Member: $265 (Early Bird) OR $315 (after 10/25)
Student: $215

Registration Information

Including lodging, visa advice, and travel suggestions can be found at http://www.sigsac.org/ccs/CCS2009/cfpt.shtml


Jean Camp

Program Committee
Steve Bellovin
Thomas S. Heydt-Benjamin
Pam Briggs
Jon Callas
Piotr Cofta
Kay Connelly
Elena Ferrari
Allan Friedman
Kevin Fu
Ben Greenstein
Jeffrey Hunker
Harry Hochheiser
Eric Johnson
Adam Joinson
Javed Mostafa
Helen Nissenbaum
David Phillips
Avi Rubin
Angela Sasse
Umesh Shankar
Wook Shin
Sean Smith
Haixu Tang
XiaoFeng Wang




©Copyright 2009.